top of page
  • Writer's picturePaige Ho

JOURNAL #9: SIGNIFYING NOTHING

Reflect on how Macbeth approaches the meaning of life and experiences on earth before death!

JOURNAL ENTRY: 4/29/19

What analogy would you use to signify a person in life?

The analogy I would use would be a runner in a race. I run cross country and track, so when I try to think of an analogy similar to Shakespeare's, that is what I think of. I think life could be compared to a race, but it is less about when you finish, but how you finish. Life is not a race to see who get first, but rather a long course filed with twists and turns. There are obstacles along the way that the runner must overcome, and if you are lucky, you may even find people to run with and be friends with. The race is long, so the runner must pace him/herself because you want to enjoy the view and "stop to smell the roses" along the race. Speeding through life is no fun because I believe the real winners of the race are the runners who are the happiest when they finish and achieved what they set their mind to.


How do you feel about life?

I feel life is confusing. It is crazy to think that we can do all of these things and are the only species on the planet who can do so. Sometimes life kind of knocks you down and makes you feel worthless, but you just have to hold on because there is a light at the end of the tunnel. Unlike how Macbeth thinks, I believe that there is hope for everyone. When the going gets tough and you just want to give up, it is important to keep fighting because there are so many people who love and care for you. I have learned not to take things or people for granted, and life is one of those things. You only get one of them, so you have to make it count and live life to the fullest.


What do you hope you get out of life?

I hope that I find meaning in my life. Out of all of the things I want to accomplish in my lifetime, I think finding my purpose is the most important. I do not know what my purpose is right now, but once I find it, I think it will make me feel complete. Purpose is one of those things that everyone looks for. People want to know why, why they were put on earth. Once you find your purpose in life, it is easier to find joy in the day-to-day things and make it more exciting to start your day. At the end of your day, you will feel proud and worth it, like you are here for a reason. I do not know, the thought of being put on this earth for a reason baffles me.


What is your approach to living in the short time we have?

My approach to living life in the short period of time we have is to always try my best and to always tell people how much I care about them. Trying my best in everything I do not only develops a good habit, but it also helps me improve and build confidence. Since life on earth is short, I think always giving 100% into what you do can provide amazing benefits and boost your ability to appreciate what you have. Whether in school or in sports, trying my best makes me feel happy because it feels like I am accomplishing something great. It also makes me feel like I am making my parents proud. The second approach, always telling people how much I care about them, is important because we really do not know how much longer each person has on earth. Telling my friends and family, especially my parents, how much I love and appreciate them helps build stronger relationships and make them feel goods. Helping others brings me so much happiness, and if the simplest thing, like saying I love you, makes them happy, I am happy.

19 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Mid-Pacific '21. Proudly created with Wix.com

SUBSCRIBE VIA EMAIL

bottom of page